7 Ways to Nurture Creativity

DeathtoStock_NotStock7

A colleague of mine recently asked me to chime in on a poll question for a magazine article, “What do you do to nurture creativity?” To be honest, in that moment when she posed this question, I was experiencing what I would call a “creative dry season.” But just when I needed it most, her question sparked in me the momentum to pull myself out of the creative slump and recharge my focus. I had allowed a heavy workload, a never-ending to-do list, and everyday life to steal my creative passion without even realizing it. And while I contemplated how I would respond to my colleague’s question, I was challenged to put back into practice some of the methods on my list of answers. Since that day, I’ve been refreshed and inspired to make sure I’m keep my creative juices flowing daily.

How about you? Have you allowed someone or something to steal away your creative identity?

If so, maybe it’s time for a creative reset. Here are 7 ways I nurture creativity daily as a writer, editor, and dreamer.

1. Wading the Web–I make a point daily to read and visit blogs, digital magazines, and websites that relate to writing or my work with Millennials, young adults, and daily spiritual encouragement.
2. Strategic Social Media–I follow specific Twitter or Instagram accounts that offer quotes, inspirational thoughts, or tidbits of encouragement.
3. Magazines Matter–I read and look at print magazines. Sometimes, picking up a print magazine nurtures some hands-on, tangible creative inspiration for my work.
4. Pinterest Play–I dabble on Pinterest. Yes, even as man, I am regularly inspired creatively by pins that relate to my particular tastes, interests, and visual appeal. It’s amazing how a few swipes through my Pinterest feed can refuel my creative passions.
5. Paraphrase Perspective–Probably one of the most interesting places I nurture creativity is in having my morning devotional time in God’s Word from The Message. Granted, I don’t do my deep Bible study from The Message, but I’ve found that soaking in Scripture from the paraphrased perspective can really get me thinking creatively as I reflect on the original context of the Bible and various ways it is received or understood in today’s context.
6. Wrestle with Writing–I try to write something every day. I don’t always make it happen, but when I devote time to writing something…even a sentence or two…toward a blog, a book idea, and so forth, I find my creativity challenged and fulfilled.
7. Music Mantra–I listen to music. There’s something about a melody…a lyric…a story in song that can nurture creative inspiration for me. One of my favorite new tools to expand my musical interests has been Spotify’s “Browse” feature, which offers tops lists, genres & moods, and new releases. I’ve found some great new music by listening to some of Spotify’s pre-crafted stations throughout the day.
What would you add to the list based on your own interests, skills, and passions?
Maybe we can all help inspire each other along the way.
10 thoughts on “7 Ways to Nurture Creativity

  1. Pingback: 7 Ways to Nurture Creativity | MillennialLeader.com

  2. Excellent list, Adam. As a fellow writer, I’ve been there many times. In addition to the ones you’ve listed, the following activities help stimulate my creativity: taking a walk or hike, listening to a podcast, and reading a book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like this list!

    Many of the songs that I write begin with listening to someone else’s work. I ask myself a question: “What would this song sound like if I wrote it?” I take the melody or the theme or lyric or even just a title and I go from there.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do a lot of what you listed here, but for me, the biggest way to stoke my creative fire is by being out in nature – going for a hike, kayaking, biking, even just a walk seems to get my creativity flowing again.

    Like

  5. Pingback: How to Nurture Your Creativity | MillennialLeader.com

Leave a Reply

